Z Day Report

The number of cars at this year's Z Day were slightly down on last year but I think there were just as many people in attendance. Looks like a few of the regulars had issues with getting the Zed out of the garage this year. The forecast rain held off for most of the day but a few would of got wet feet on the way home.

Once again there were also a good smattering of Datsun's and I would like to thank the members of the Perth Datsun club for making the effort to come along and show off their fine cars. Especially since they had already attended another show and shine in the morning. Unfortunately this year's feature cars (engine transplant Z's) didn't turn up in big numbers with only two making it. A first for this year's show was the appearance of Aaron Hillsdon, Aaron is a graphic artist whose hobby is drawing cars, he brought along posters and calendars he has produced using all of the Zeds ever made. He also was taking orders for personal drawings of member's cars. If you would like to see his works go to his web site http://drawsyourcar.bigcartel.com/product/z-car-poster

I would like to thank the committee for all of their efforts and Shaun Carey for the gas, ice and big esky. Without all the little jobs being done none of this would be possible. Also very big thank you to Martin Falconer of "Tune Right" for donating the sausage sizzle and drinks on the day.

Go to
for all of the pictures.

Our winners for this year were:

Perpetual Trophy for members only went to George Kallidis for all of the efforts he has gone to restoring his 260Z in a unique manner, complete with wood grain dash.

People's choice for the best 240Z / 260Z went to Rodger Bennetts and his very nice 240Z. The competition in this category was very close with Rodger winning on a count back of second choices from Howard Trevenen's 240Z and the blue 260Z of DadSon racing fame.

People's choice for the best non S30 car was a very clear win to the Datsun 180B SSS owned by Brian.

New for this year was the "Pist'n-Broke" trophy. A trophy that in future years will be given to a nominated member that has done something outstanding in the field of silliness. As this year we didn't ask for nominations I automatically awarded it to the man who broke his piston so we could have the trophy made. Well done Chris Bothams and thanks to Peter Harrold for making the trophy.

Well done to all.